Rotating Image to indicate adding item to cart

Checkout Progress

  • Step 1 of 3
  • Step 2 of 3
  • Step 3 of 3
  • Completed
Flag of European Union

Flag European Union

Icon for Flag


Flag European Union 1500x900mm

Price: $23.10

Product ID: eu---/l

Icon for Flag


Flag European Union 900x600mm

Price: $17.09

Product ID: eu---/m

Icon for Flag


Flag  European Union 2400x1500mm

Price: $93.67

Product ID: eu---/v

Icon for Hand-waver


Hand-waver European Union 450x300mm

Price: $13.00

Product ID: eu---/hw

Cheaper in Packs

Icon for Handwaver Child

Handwaver Child

Handwaver Child European Union 225x150mm

Price: $7.99

Product ID: eu---/hc

Cheaper in Packs

Icon for Desk Flag

Desk Flag

Desk Flag European Union 150x100mm

Price: $7.99

Product ID: eu---/df

Cheaper in Packs

Icon for String 30

String 30

String 30 European Union 230x150mm
String 30 European Union 230x150mm
String 30 European Union 230x150mm
String 30 European Union 230x150mm
String 30 European Union 230x150mm
String 30 European Union 230x150mm

Price: $70.10

Product ID: eu---/sf30

Icon for Decal


Decal European Union 124x82mm

Price: $3.00

Product ID: eu---/d1

Icon for Badge


Badge European Union 90x60mm

Price: $6.10

Product ID: eu---/p1

Flag Information and Facts


Following the two devastating World Wars of the first half of the 20th century, a number of European leaders in the late 1940s became convinced that the only way to establish a lasting peace was to unite the two chief belligerent nations - France and Germany - both economically and politically. In 1950, the French Foreign Minister Robert SCHUMAN proposed an eventual union of all Europe, the first step of which would be the integration of the coal and steel industries of Western Europe. The following year the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was set up when six members, Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands, signed the Treaty of Paris. The ECSC was so successful that within a few years the decision was made to integrate other parts of the countries' economies. In 1957, the Treaties of Rome created the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), and the six member states undertook to eliminate trade barriers among themselves by forming a common market. In 1967, the institutions of all three communities were formally merged into the European Community (EC), creating a single Commission, a single Council of Ministers, and the European Parliament. Members of the European Parliament were initially selected by national parliaments, but in 1979 the first direct elections were undertaken and they have been held every five years since. In 1973, the first enlargement of the EC took place with the addition of Denmark, Ireland, and the United Kingdom. The 1980s saw further membership expansion with Greece joining in 1981 and Spain and Portugal in 1986. The 1992 Treaty of Maastricht laid the basis for further forms of cooperation in foreign and defense policy, in judicial and internal affairs, and in the creation of an economic and monetary union - including a common currency. This further integration created the European Union (EU). In 1995, Austria, Finland, and Sweden joined the EU, raising the membership total to 15. A new currency, the euro, was launched in world money markets on 1 January 1999; it become the unit of exchange for all of the EU states except the United Kingdom, Sweden, and Denmark. In 2002, citizens of the 12 euro-area countries began using the euro banknotes and coins. Ten new countries joined the EU in 2004 - Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia - bringing the current membership to 25. In order to ensure that the EU can continue to function efficiently with an expanded membership, the 2003 Treaty of Nice set forth rules streamlining the size and procedures of EU institutions. An EU Constitutional Treaty, signed in Rome on 29 October 2004, gave member states two years to ratify the document before it was scheduled to take effect on 1 November 2006. Referenda held in France and the Netherlands in May-June 2005 that rejected the constitution suspended the ratification effort. Despite the